“Be patient if you want to pursue videography”

“Be patient if you want to pursue videography”

HMTlogo

Hoang Minh Trang is a young lady who has been obsessed with photography since she was a student in Vietnam. After becoming a foreign student in Finland, Trang still keeps that passion to this year-round snowy country, brings art and her talent to prettify this life by her vivid film footage. She has contributed to many events and currently is one of videographer partners of We Do! Wedding Fair 2015.  Let’s get acquainted with this young filmmaker, Hoang Minh Trang, through the following interview.

  1.  Hi, Trang. Could you introduce a bit about yourself?

I’m a student from Vietnam, currently studying international business in Haaga-Helia UAS. I work as a freelance videographer.

  1. What made you come to videography? And when did you first know that you wanted to be a videographer?

I was first into photography then moved on to videography as for me, video is another form of photos which is livelier. About 2 years ago, in my country there was a trend of youngsters being independent film maker and they did produce fascinating short films that really inspired me to become one.

  1. Did you go to school for study videography? Or who inspired and shared his/her experience with you?

I took part in a short course in Vietnam about video editing, after that I tried to learn these technique online. I shared this ‘hobby’ with some friends and together we learnt from each other.

  1. If not a videographer, what would you like to become?

A beatboxer. Can I be both? (smile)

  1. How long have you been a videographer?

I’ve had several projects with my friends back home during the last 2 years but I officially became a freelance videographer since August 2014.

  1. How would you describe your style/ major? And what is your strength in videography?

A cold-toned, gloomy and melancholic footage would be something pleasant to my eyes but so far most of the videos I’ve done were sunlit and colorful. I guess what I want and what I’m good at are two different aspects. Still a whole lot to learn though.

  1. Could you tell me some remarkable events that you cooperated with?

I had a chance to shoot a video for Luxus Worldwide in their Movember campaign and Housewarming party, which was unforgettable. The cheerful people, the cozy office and the professional yet relaxing way of working amazed me. They even allow dogs to hang out with you in the office!

  1. What do you feel is the most challenging thing about video graphing?

Customers have hundreds of different requirements or sometimes they have no clue what they want. The most challenging thing is to offer them a sense of your own style, at the same time fulfill their needs even though sometimes it goes against your taste.

  1. It is believed that Videography and Photography requires many high-technology gadgets and equipment that may be very expensive. Do you think pursuing this hobby/ profession is costly?

You will surely want to invest in any kind of hobby if you’re really into it. It is costly when pursuing this as your career but all in all, it’s not how expensive or modern the equipment you buy, the gist of the matter is how you make use of what you already have. There are lots of film makers who made their way into the business with just a limited budget or DIY tools.

  1. If you could go back 5 years, what advice would you give yourself?

Even now, I always tell myself not to be affected by other’s opinion.

  1. What would you like to be doing in 5 years from now? Do you have any plan to promote your business/ profession?

Working in video advertising department, or becoming an independent film maker. I’m currently having some short film projects. I think more of them as something that delight me, not so much of a way to promote my future career.

  1. What advice do you have for someone who wants to pursue videography? And do you have any words of wisdom you would like to share with newbies?

I’m a newbie myself. I would hope to receive advice from my favourite videographers. For those who start from scratch, I just want to tell them it takes time and practice, so be patient.

  1. Can you share several of your own favorite amazing videos?

My favourite is this one

I filmed it when I was on a camping trip with the music club. I didn’t do much of effect on this one because the footage itself was already brighten with sunlight, which for me, having captured the original stunning colour of nature and making it into video without editing is such a reward.

Another one I love is the trailer I made for a music show October #Beatz

It was the first video that I tried a new filming technique called “free lensing” and it worked unexpectedly well.

Thank you for the interview and wish you more successful filming projects in future.

Visit her website to enjoy more nice videos at www.behance.net/hoangminhtrang

– Daisy-

Leave a Reply

